Preschool Sunday School – Elijah and King Ahab

Our church uses Lifeway’s Gospel Project curriculum in our Preschool and Children’s Department.  It is awesome!  I’d love to answer any questions you may have if you are considering it.

The lesson this week was about Elijah and King Ahab (the altar contest) in which God showed His power in a mighty way.

I usually modify it somewhat for our very little ones – toddlers and two’s.  I create a one page lesson plan for those rooms.   You can download that here.

Preschool Toddlers through 2’s – Elijah Confronted King Ahab

Here is the altar sheet in case you want to use it for the art project.  I got it from this site, but modified it somewhat so our toddlers wouldn’t have to do any cutting.  They will just glue on pieces of red, orange, yellow tissue paper squares.  I will probably just go ahead and put the glue on it for them with a glue stick and then let them just lay the tissue squares on top.  Our older preschoolers can glue for themselves.  Also, I will let our older preschoolers use blue water color paint to paint water in the jars.

Elijah altar with jars coloring sheet

Hope this helps!

Kathy:)

 

One thought on “Preschool Sunday School – Elijah and King Ahab

  1. Hi,
    I want to start by saying that your blog looks great! My name is Martin and I’m a teacher from Canada. I just started a new website called Resources4teaching where educators can buy and sell lessons and educational resources. We are new and are looking for people to join and put up their materials for sale on our website. We are having an iPad draw for the first 100 Vendors who join and upload at least 1 lesson /resource for sale on our website. There are absolutely no fees to join and you earn royalties of 70%. You can visit us at: http://www.resources4teaching.com
    I also created the Resources4teaching forums where educators can discuss education. Feel free to join us and start sharing your best practices and strategies.
    If you know any other teachers who might be interested in this Website, please forward this to them and if you have any questions, feel free to message me.

    Have a great day

    Like

Leave a comment